Declaration of Oil Sands Areas

This page provides information regarding the official declaration of the three oil sands areas in Alberta.

The following information was used to identify the three oil sands areas in Alberta, namely, Athabasca, Cold Lake and Peace River. These letters also provide access to the mapped boundaries at the time of issuance. Current maps displaying these oil sands areas may be found under Oil Sands Maps.

The Alberta Energy Regulator (AER) has a variety of other oil sands-related information, such as decision reports, major approval and hearing, scheme applications, etc.

Alberta Energy Information Letters

IL-1989-04 Peace River Oil Sands Area