Coal Acts and Regulations

The following Acts and Regulations are available from the Alberta Queen's Printer website. A complete listing of Statutes (Acts) and Regulations are also available from the Alberta Queen's Printer.

Key Acts & Regulations
Coal Conservation Act
This Act establishes a scheme of approvals administered by the AER governing the development of coal resources and related facilities in Alberta.

Coal Conservation Regulation

Coal Sales Act
This Act allows regulations to be made governing the sale of coal in Alberta.

Freehold Mineral Rights Tax Act
This Act imposes a property tax on minerals (currently just oil and gas as provided in the regulations) in Alberta owned other than by the Crown.

Mines & Minerals Act
This Act governs the management and disposition of rights in Crown owned mines and minerals, including the levying and collecting of bonuses, rental and royalties. (Administration of portions of this Act shared with Environment and Parks)

Coal Royalty Regulation

Mines and Minerals Administration Regulation

Other Relevant Provincial Legislation

Environmental Protection and Enhancement Act

Environmental Assessment (Mandatory and Exempted Activities) Regulation

Forest and Prairie Protection Act

Forests Act

Historical Resources Act

Law of Property Act

Municipal Government Act

Occupational Health and Safety Act

Public Highways Development Act

Public Lands Act

Special Areas Act

Surface Rights Act

Water Act